Thoughts from today

I work… sometimes… My husband would agree that I frequently skip work. Lately, it’s been extremely hot. I mean, really… I don’t get up early in the morning saying “Yay! I can’t wait to go to work and breathe hot, humid air all day and have sweat dripping from every oriface of my body!” Hard to believe. I know. One of the good parts about my day today was that my dad, who is also my boss, was in a good mood. That usually makes the day go A LOT faster! I’m half way done with a very complex project! Tomorrow I’ll work on it some more and hopefully be ready for the final stage by the time I leave tomorrow night.

When I got home from work, there were messages in my inbox from friends that are excited to see me in the next week or so and wanting to plan what we’re going to do when we’re together!

I went to play softball tonight. I didn’t get to play, which was fine with me. My breathing has been kinda labored and difficult when I’m running. I end up having to stop and cough a lot. I do not understand why I’m coughing so much. Hopefully the ear, nose and throat doctor will have some insight when I see him on Tuesday. Anyway, so it started to rain while we were playing the game. It felt really nice! Especially since it’s been so hot and dry lately! On my way home, I saw a double rainbow!!!! It was beautiful!!! I took pictures of it. Yeah. I know. A little on the cheesy side, but hey, it doesn’t happen much around here!

I came home, had a little gelato… shh don’t tell Tony… there’s still some left… LOL! And turned on one of my FAVORITE shows! Baby Borrowers!!! OMG! I love this show! The teens that are participating in the experiment are so expressive and real about their experience. I’m really glad that the producer didn’t edit out all of the trials and tribulations of being a parent. Tony of course doesn’t like it. He says he’d rather wait until we have a child than to see how bad other ones are and live in fear:) Which of course I think is hillarious! Every kid is different based on how their parents are with them. Which brings me to another point….

I read a friend’s blog today that discussed the benefits and drawbacks of allowing children under the age of 2 to watch TV. So, I’ve been thinking about it from my own perspective. I plan to do the best I can with what I know at the time as a parent. I know that many people that are yet to be parents say things like, “My child will never eat sugar!” “My child will always wear a helmet!” “My child will never throw a tantrum like that at a restaurant/grocery store/mall/etc.!” “I will always be patient with my child.” “I will never yell at my child.” The list goes on and on. From my perspective, as a non-parent, that’s all well and good to think you’ll be the best parents ever, but come ON! Honestly, parents screw up at some point. They don’t mean to. It’s not intentional (most of the time). They do the best they can. As far as the TV thing goes, I see both sides of the issue. On one hand, I get that kids need to become aware of their environment and learn things by trying them out, and feeling them, and taking things apart and be stimulated. And on the other, sometimes a parent just needs 20 minutes to get dinner finished, or maybe go to the bathroom, or shower, or something and they turn on the TV to keep their child occupied and safe while they do normal things. What I have a problem with is kids watching TV ALL day. Come ON people! These are little kids! Do something with them! Get them outside. Go for a walk. Sing a song. Finger paint. Color. Have them sort clean laundry. Have a race with them to see who can pick up the toys fastest. Be creative. Collect bugs. Play in the sand. Play in the dirt. Wear them out! The more their worn out, the better they’ll nap, the happier they’ll be, the more amicable they’ll be to go places with, etc. I am of the opinion that far too many kids rely on external sources for entertainment. Perhaps I’m a hypocrite because I’m a huge fan of my computer. It’s almost attatched to me. I do get up and do things. Any way… back to the kid thing… I think it’s really sad to hear a kid say there’s nothing to do because there isn’t a computer or a TV around. Imagination is what has made this country great. What has brought new ideas and things into our world. I think we as non-parents, future parents and current parents, could do ourselves and the next generation and big favor if we just stay involved with them. (Bowing and stepping off the soap box)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thoughts from today

  1. Rhy

    “Have them sort clean laundry” – Amen!

Leave a comment